How Did I Take Someone From MySpace to My Place

From mySpace to my place

Today, it’s proven that the techniques to prospect new markets have been developped thanks to new technologies and especially social networks. For instance, you have more chance that someone get you message if you text it to his mobile phone than if you try to call him. Even better now, thanks to Facebook, MySpace, hi5, Plaxo, Twitter, and other great social networking sites, you have better chances than ever before to find powerful connecting names when you prospect, to pass the gates keepers, and  to reach out your target. So, how did I take someone from MySpace to my place?

As another to expose my work and to share my belief to the world that relationship matters, I did in the past created an account at MySpace.com So, I had people and friends who frequently would come and check out what was new on my space and with the word of mouth I had people I didn’t know that start to come and read my work. I must confess, it’s pretty flattering to know that people can be interested to what you do. So, I had that one person who one day made an interesting comment and that’s when it all get started until he reached my place.

  1. I did always send a “thank you” reply to all comments he did write on my space, whether relelvant or not. If you want someboday to be interested in your work and t come and check it again and again whether it’s your boss,, your colleaue, a relative, or a friend, then you want to show some type of respect and gratefulness. the reason being that, that one person who will constantly get back to your is not only helping you grow and progress, but also, that person might be the one who will be out there one day and talk on your favour for a promotion, salary increase, better opportunities, and more. So, show that person that you care.
  2. For someone to come back again and again, it probably means that the person is either interested about you as a person or the person is interested about your work. In that case, it was my work. So what I did after was to show genuine interest and allow myself to ask that independant contributor what he does for living and what his interests in life are. You bet he was flattered. And we found out that we both enjoy watching the NBA basket ball game even though we didn’t support the same teams. I am a Lakers fan, he was an Utah fan. From that point, he wasn’t just one person putting comments on lyspace, he was becoming someone I would likely call my friend and that new consideration was true for the both of us.
  3. As a third step, after telling him what I do for living as well, I did ask him if there is anything I could help him with that would be in my area of expertise. For such an accomplish and successful person that he is, at my then level, there wasn’t really anything I could do for him that he potentially couldn’t do himself. However, he’s been pretty sensitive to my offer and ask me in return how he can help me. We then exchanged email address, phone numbers, and got in touch in skype for a working session and for me to tell him what my company is all about. He loved the idea, we’ve been great friends ever since and next month as he will be flying to Boston, we’ve arranged, my wife and I, and to have him come for dinner at my place.

Here is what I want you to take away from this. Social networking sites are great ways today to create new relationships, manage and maintain existing relationships. Whether it’s for business purposes or for your personal life, even tough I do recommend to be really careful with social networking sites, I do believe they are tremendous doors of opportunities.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

